What’s Your Fix?

Well?  I suppose I should tell you mine.  What makes me a witch?  Its easy.

When I was probably 8 or so, I started thinking about God.  He didn’t seem very reachable to me.  And who was that Jesus fellow, anyway?  I was very confused – I could not get it through my head that people were, by nature, bad.  I didn’t know about Christianity, at least not much: my parents wanted me to find my faith by myself.  So, right around then, I took my first step.

I began sitting next to my window, with my head resting on the sill, feeling the cool wind blowing across my face.  I found that, if I asked it to, it would do it over and over.  The wind became my friend.  When I was lonely, or afraid, or I had a bad dream, I would open my window for the wind.

Somewhere in there, I remember beginning to sing to the wind at night – occasionally.  The only song I remember singing is, “If I Were You” by Colin Raye.  I love that song.

I stumbled onto the infamous, “Teen Witch” by Raven SilverWolf, or whatever her name is, when I was 10 or 11.  I had never heard of Wicca, but I had always loved the Greek Gods, and so I initiated.  I kept the faith, but not the rituals.

Around 12 or 13, I reinitiated and began to celebrate, occasionally.  My friends also joined up with me, and before we knew it, we had a coven.  I met my teacher when I was 15, and soon after, due to inner-coven conflict, my coven broke up.  My teacher’s view of religion was slightly different than my friends’, and I chose the older, wiser one.

I am now a solitary practitioner, as my teacher lives 1300 miles away from me.  I am still a second degree, and have been for quite some time.  I figure, it’ll come in time.

Anyway, I digress.   I asked, “What’s your fix?”  and I guess, I meant, “What was your sign?  Your turning point?”  Mine wasn’t the wind.

One night, long before I met my teacher or we formed our coven, I was laying in bed, facing North, with my head in the east, drifting off to sleep…and all of a sudden, a warmth envelopes me.  I can’t move, but I don’t want to.  It was the first time I felt truly home.  It was, at that moment, that I knew that I was headed down the right path.

Feel free to comment!  If its not rude, I’ll approve it.

Leave a Reply

