The Meaning of Magick

In the words of Doreen Valiente –

In the earth and air and sea,
By the light of Moon or Sun,
As we do will, so mote it be.
Chant the spell and it be done!

Magick is, in essence, the ability to master yourself that you may master your surroundings. This takes willpower, knowledge, planning and emotional input. In other words, you need to know about what you’re asking, you need to plan what you’re going to do, you need to devote emotion to it, and you need to use your determination to complete your goal. From such a broad goal as “prosperity” to something as detailed as “I want to get the job from that company, and I want to nail my interview tomorrow”, the achieving of magickal goals (spells) takes a practical dimension as well.

It is easy for us to blame the gods when we create this wonderful spell for making ourselves thinner, and then we continue the same routine we always do – eating cupcakes and watching TV. Or, a chant for getting a new job, and then refusing to open the yellow pages or classifieds. I’m not saying the gods couldn’t make it happen – I have had many a sign in my time. But generally, I like to think they have a ‘dumb’ requirement.

That’s right, I just did the unthinkable – I put words in our gods’ mouths. But, besides my completely unpriestesslike behavior above, let’s take a look at it logically. Let’s think of magick as the ability to remove bricks from an encased doorway or window (refer here for a picture). Let us say that there are 14 rows of bricks. The gods will, in their wisdom, take away some rows of bricks, or perhaps weaken the mortar in between them. But, the gods will not usually take away the entire obstacle. That would just be no fun. Magick, in action, creates opportunities for change. It does not necessarily create the change itself.

Over the summer I was blessed with the chance to bike 400 miles across the State of New York. It wouldn’t be that much of an accomplishment, but I prayed for 4 years for the chance, and this summer, I prayed for the ability to do it. I decided when I started, that I was going to do every single mile of the journey. And, my determination, willpower, emotional input, and knowledge helped me every step of the way. It was all of these factors that got me up those hills. Because it certainly was not my strength, or my exceptional biking ability. I had barely done any riding before I attempted the ride this year – I had too much to do.

Needless to say, I thanked the gods and I thanked myself. For whatever reason, they took down some of the barriers that stopped me from going. And I supplied the rest.

Til next time, folks! I’ll get back to the properties of lizards tomorrow – I promise.

3 responses to “The Meaning of Magick

  1. Pingback: Accepting Change and Self Evaluation « Pagan Pages

  2. I understand much well. For this is the life. but how would you explain the use of magick in a dream. it all couldn’t just be thoughts but a doorway as well, so it never stops. how could we make the dream into a memory, as the memory is already a dream. magick. ?. or fate.. or could it all be the same. ?.

  3. Pingback: A Treatise on Magick | Pagan Pages

Leave a Reply

