Communication

Just a friendly reminder since we’re still in the ‘just after Samhain’ period.  Samhain is all about communication.  (Future) Yule is about immortality and the cycles of life.  In my tradition.

So, in terms of practicality, I find certain things popping up –

  • I walked outside this morning, and for the first two minutes of walking, I heard and saw no wildlife.  How odd.  The first animal I saw was a crow, perched on top of a tall tree on campus.  Alone.
  • Yesterday, when my roommate and I were walking a few miles, we saw probably over a hundred crows, cawing and flocking together.

If you’re looking for ways to be practical about your beliefs, and apply them daily instead of eight times a year at the sabbats and thirteen times a year at the esbats, watching the world around you is a great way to do it.

The silence this morning, I think, represented my state of mind – weary, and tired.  The first wildlife I was able to pick out seemed to be taunting…as if poking at an injured bear.  Crows are known for their intelligence and cunning, and also for their relationship to Hecate, who at best has a weird sense of humor.  “Stand up.”  I find myself saying, “Stand up and be strong.  You are a priestess.”  And so I begin my day.

The crows yesterday was also a weird parody on what should have been geese.  But the geese are gone, and the crows (I believe) stay over winter.  It was like they were having a convention.  They were very noisy too – it reminded me of being on campus after a game ends or something.  I got the same dark-humor vibe I got today – and I mostly just smile – its a sign that Hecate, and the other gods – they care.

Communication shouldn’t just span between you and your gods, or you and nature.  How are your relationships with your pets?  How about with your parents?  Your significant other?  Your children?

I have a great relationship with my parents and my living-mates.  I love where I am in life right now, and who I spend my time with.  I am also not that influenced by them – I do not drink, I do not smoke, but I can accept their decisions and still have fun.  That tolerance is also a lesson to be learned from Samhain.

Turning ahead towards Yule, I find myself looking at the cycles of life with awe, and wonder, and a little bit of fear.  I am old – it seems, although I am only 19.  I am expected in the next few years to leave college and enter the workforce!  Start a family, perhaps.  What lies ahead of me?  And what lies behind me?  What are those universal truths that have been present throughout my life, regardless of age or mood or ideology?  Those truths will be there for a long time to come – and the immortality of the gods and the cycles of life remain, ever changing.

Have a great day!

(To Sum Up)

Samhain Exercises – Communication, Omens

  • Recognize the wildlife you see throughout the day – what are they doing?  What are they trying to tell you?
  • Try to have a real conversation with someone close to you
  • Try to have a real conversation with someone not so close to you.

Yule Exercises – Immortality, Family

  • What are the universal themes in your life?  Are they present throughout?
  • What is the significance of your physical family?  Your spiritual family?  (If they are different)
  • What does meditation on the significance of an evergreen reveal to you?
  • How is the darkest day and longest night relevant to your life?  What aspects of your life should you be paying attention to right now?
Leave a Reply

