Calling All With Brains!

Hey guys –

Since 2003, I have been blessed with the creation and management of what my co-administrator and I deem “our baby” with full affection. The Order of the Gecko is a group dedicated to the research and discussion of various religions and philosophies. When I went into college and my partner began a new business however, the Order suffered. It is a dead site, now, but I am looking to rejuvenate it.

Previously, the Order was little more than a forum and a small database of information regarding the different subjects at hand. It was a small community of friends. You can view the old site, here.

On March 28th, 2008, and perhaps earlier, we will be launching a brand new version of the website. This new version will be using Moodle, a course management system, and will be intended for a more teach-learn-discuss website than it has ever been before. I am extremely impressed with Moodle, and it fits very well with the site’s objectives and purpose.  The link I have provided is that of our test server – which is completely functional.

Traditionally, the Order requires certain things of its members: You must be over 13, you must be willing to contribute to the forums or the research, you must have a religion, and you must have an IQ score greater than your age(lol). I am easing the registration and application process for a while – which required an interview for entry.

We are looking for teachers and students. For teachers, you must be relatively knowledgeable about your topic. You may teach about anything under the topics presented on the site – Spirituality, Religion, Philosophy, Technology, Science or History – and design the course as you see fit. For students, all we ask is a willing heart and an open mind. Keep in mind, also, that you can be both!

I look forward to this new era of the Order of the Gecko.   I hope that you, my loyal readers – can join me on my quest to make this a great community of thinkers.  If we – the young, the old, the generation of *now* – do not change the world for our children – who will?

We will return to our regularly scheduled programming now.

One response to “Calling All With Brains!

  1. I don’t go back. I leave my gifts on random places, usually out doors.

    Thank you for your blog, btw. I have been ‘too busy’ for my faith and I am doing some serious soul searching to get back to it.

Leave a Reply

