Ah, Science

Well guys, midterms caught up to me and kicked me in the butt – but no worries.  After today and maybe tomorrow you can look forward to a few new posts from me – back to producing relatively good posts.

Seems that as a science major I have a lot of work to do…but with my religion minor, I do get some interesting opportunities.  Take, for example, the paper I’m looking to write.  I have to take a model of religion or ritual and apply it to something.  I will NOT be applying it to New Age/Wiccan/Pagan rituals.  Yet.  My official paper, I am going to write on the Kinaalda, a Navajo coming-of-age ceremony for young women.

But, check out the model I’m using – Geertz’s definition of religion:

(1) a system of symbols which acts to (2) establish powerful, pervasive, and long-lasting moods and motivations in men by (3) formulating conceptions of a general order of existence and (4) clothing these conceptions with such an aura of factuality that (5) the moods and motivations seem uniquely realistic (Geertz 1985: 4).

Pretty cool, right?

I’ll post my paper on that definition tomorrow 😉

Blessed Be!

Leave a Reply

