Working with Tarot

Woot guys!  I’m back.

I tend to find that  I get into these moods, where I tend to not want to do something, even though I have to.   Its like a game that I play with myself, seeing how long I can procrastinate.  Unfortunately, when that happens, I tend to do other things.  I was not procrastinating my return to blogging, but I was doing it with some other things – my gecko is sick, I thought he was going to die…I sort of avoided that side of the house as much as possible.  I started my job, I’ve been trying it seems, as hard as possible, to do everything *but* work.

You get the point.  ANYway, let’s get to the point of this post, shall we?  Everyone knows there’s such a novelty in tarot cards – and for witches, there is a certain divinatory appeal that goes beyond, “I can see your future husband.  He’s blonde.  And not an alcoholic.”

But, when you get a new deck, how do you even begin to attune yourself to the different energies?  Or, what if its your first?  My high priest would most likely shoot me if I ever browsed through the booklet that comes along with a deck to get an idea about what each card meant.   There are three exercises – all based around the same principle – that I used to get familiar with my current deck, and still use to get back into the swing of things.  It’s also a good alternative meditation and divination exercise, and it doesn’t take a hell of a lot of discipline or superpsychicmagical powers.  Just determination.

The basic principle is this:  shuffle the deck, then, one card at a time, look at the card, and make up a story.  This exercise can take the form of:

Haiku – Draw one card per line, or one card per haiku.  As you’ll remember, haiku is three lines, where syllables is the most important – the first line needs 5 syllables, the second, 7, and the third, 5 once more.

Poem – You can really do it for any type of poetry.  Just make the rules before you start it – one card per stanza, or one per couplet, or one per line.  Keep in mind that there are a LOT of cards in a tarot deck.  You’ll be at it a while if you write an entire poem per card, and its best to do this in one sitting.

Story – This was the original idea given to me by my high priest.  Draw a card, and make a story.  Draw the next card, and expand on the story.

I usually write in super script or as a note on the side of where I’m doing the exercise, which card was drawn.  That way, if I want to look back later, I can.  I usually do this simple abbreviation:

  • Kn/R – Knight of Rods.
  • IV – The Major Arcana, fourth card.
  • A/C – Ace of Cups

Et cetera.

See you guys tomorrow with another post!

Leave a Reply

