The Book of Shadows

Well guys, this is more of a Wiccan related post, but I think its important nonetheless.  If anyone else is an organization freak like me, your Book of Shadows has to piss you off.  If you have it in a binder, you still don’t have super cool formatting abilities – unless you do it yourself.  If you have it in a spiral notebook, you miss the opportunity to organize by subject – and chronologically is not always the best way to accomplish things.

There are no programs for the Book of Shadows either.  No programmer has taken it upon themselves to code a Book of Shadows program that you can use completely.  When I say completely, just think of all the categories you need –

  • Reflections
  • Meditations
  • Rituals
  • Spells
  • Stone lore
  • Herb lore
  • Animal lore
  • Plant lore
  • Divination – with sections for Tarot, Runes, Astrology

Is there a need for it?  I keep thinking to myself that maybe, someday, I’ll be able to build a site where people can register, store their book of shadows (I’d code it on entry to the database to be unreadable except by that user), update, use it.  But that doesn’t take care of the offline aspect.  Does someone (me, perhaps?) need to write a program (I’m thinking, VB .NET) for those computer savvy people so that they can have a place to store pictures with their information on herbs, or audio with their chants, with no fear of dying suddenly and losing the information, or losing their book to rain, tornado, ice storm, hurricane, etc?

I bring this up only because I have created a relatively dynamic, MASSIVE word document over the last few days with archives of my BoS.  As in, just using the stuff on my computer (I have about 8 journals and binders with relative, untyped, information in them, not to mention scraps here and there) I’ve managed to accumulate 173 pages and 45,000 words.  And I’ve only been doing this for 10 years.

Is there interest?

2 responses to “The Book of Shadows

  1. Great post! For years, my “Book” has been several journals, loose pages, print-outs, copies, and random bits of papers “organized” in a drawer. Recently, I’ve started typing it all up. It’s quite the task.

  2. I don’t know if you’ll read this, as it’s an old post, but I’ve started my BoS with a wiki. It’s simple: You can edit everything, there’s good markup, cross references, history of pages and everything you want to have and much more. I’m using DokuWiki which doesn’t require anything apart from a webserver with php (no database required as it uses text files to save pages, which makes backups and upgrades VERY easy). I’m using Linux, so running a webserver is pretty much standard, for windows however I’d give XAMPP a shot (just install apache as a service; skip mysql).

Leave a Reply

