The “Other” Meditation

We all know about classical meditation – sit or lie down, count your breathing or your heart rate or simply focus on nothingness to achieve the meditation state.  For some of us, that is exceedingly difficult.  But there is another method to achieve that state, which, although challenging, is just as, if not more rewarding.

There are times when you’re exercising, or doing anything, and you don’t really want to do it.  Or some part of you does not want to perform that action.  You’re scared or your grumpy or what have you – you are waging an inner battle.

The solution?  Keep doing it.

For me, it was day 4 of a 400 mile bike ride, and I was 30 miles out with 35 miles to go.  I didn’t want to bike.  At that point, I hated biking.  There were hills, it was hot, I was tired, and sore, and didn’t think I could do it.  But I kept pedaling.  And eventually, the part of me that seemed to be fighting every step of the way – it shut up!

I couldn’t believe it.  I was alone in my own head.  And trust me, that happens very rarely.

Just a thought – I’m sure the process could be repeated with any intense amount of exercise – running, swimming, biking, walking.

Leave a Reply

