Number Six of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time

For those interested, I will be bicycling from Medina, NY to Seneca Falls, NY today.

Number 6: Everything does not boil down to “Possession!!!”

I don’t believe I’ve mentioned my rather embarrassing story on this blog yet, but I suppose I will have to, as it is an important lesson. The reason I harp on group dynamics and fluffy bunny stuff so much is that we all fall victim to it. I was no better a few years ago, when I managed to call my High Priest in fear, and the first words out of my mouth were, “Umm…umm….Possession!”

The story goes like this. A fellow covener and I had a third friend over to my house to hang out. This third friend, whom I will call Jill for the sake of this story, was having a very rough time at home, in school, and in life in general. I believe there was evidence of cutting herself on her arms or on her legs, among the other signs of depression, anxiety and general looking-for-attention behaviors that many teenagers exhibit in one point or another of their lives. We will call the fellow covener, Mary.

So Mary and Jill and I went down to my basement, which also served as our ritual room. I believe Jill may have been interested in joining the coven with us, and we may have turned the conversation towards something of that nature. One thing lead to another, and eventually Jill radically altered her behavior, explaining that she was a man-spirit inside of Jill. Mary and I, ever the helpful people, tried to remove this malevolent being from poor Jill’s body.

You should have seen us. We tried forcing Jill to drink our cleansed water. We had to chase her around because s/he wouldn’t stay still. At one point, s/he said to us that s/he wouldn’t leave Jill’s body until one of us kissed her. At one point, I think we even tried to bleed the spirit out of her with a thumb tack.

Back to the story. So my high priest answers the phone, and after hearing me say that, proceeded to yell and lecture me for about a half hour, beginning with “Wait. Stop.” and ending with, “You better like the pair of underwear that you’re wearing, because by the time I’m done with you, it will most likely be the last pair you’re wearing.”

Thinking back, that end line may have been the second phone call to him. We actually called him twice – apparently the first time of him yelling wasn’t enough to get it through our heads that “Jill” just wanted attention. Boy though, I was 20 feet away from the other two on the phone and they could hear every word that he was saying, crystal clear, he was yelling so loud.

Needless to say, I have since learned basic psychology principles as well as picked up a little bit of common sense. I am not ruling out the concept or occurrence of possession, mind you, merely pointing out that it is a very, very rare happening.

Number One of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Two of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Three of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Four of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Five of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Six of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Seven of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Eight of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Number Nine of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time « Pagan Pages.

2 responses to “Number Six of the Top Ten Things A Witch Learns Over Time

  1. Group dynamics get dicey sometimes when you’re outside of the mainstream. We all went through a phase like this where we tested how others would react. It’s called childhood.

    We all go through it again when we start break out of conditioning. Sometimes it’s easy to forget, it seems.

    I enjoyed the story.

  2. Pingback: Ouija Boards « Pagan Pages

Leave a Reply

