Fundie of the Week Award: Michelle Bachmann

I know the last one I found was in July, so we’re altering the name: the brand spanking new Fundie of the Month award.  I should take some time to create a little picture award to go along with it.  Then I can send it to the people/organizations in question.

Anywho, onto the award.

Congresswoman Michele Bachmann gets the award, although I’m not sure if we should just commit her instead.  The congresswoman released a statement to OneNewsNow, saying

“[Pelosi] is committed to her global warming fanaticism to the point where she has said that she’s just trying to save the planet. We all know that someone did that over 2,000 years ago, they saved the planet — we didn’t need Nancy Pelosi to do that,” says Bachmann.

Someone saved the planet over 2,000 years ago!  Have you heard the good news?

I am all about my religion creating what I believe to be right and true.  But that gives me no right to ignore current issues because my religion says that nothing except the spiritual matters.  Face it, congresswoman: if you’re unwilling to recognize current day issues and are blowing them off because “someone else saved the planet,” should you really be a politician?

Not only is that using your religion as a shield, it’s also shirking your job duties!  I don’t care if you fight either way – I’d prefer that you tried to save the planet, too – but a statement like that can be applied to anything.

“I don’t care about fuel prices…Jesus saved the world!”

“I don’t care about abortion – Jesus saved the world!”

“I don’t care about people dying in a multi billion dollar war over gas while I try to eliminate the last few polar bears on earth in a move that will lower gas prices by ten cents – in twenty years…Jesus saved the world!”

Come on, now.  Honestly?

One response to “Fundie of the Week Award: Michelle Bachmann

Leave a Reply

