Living sustainably: Make your own bread (buns)

Step 1.  Obtain a breadmaker.

I found my breadmaker at our local goodwill for six dollars, over two years ago.  I’ve probably made about 10 things with it, which means that all in all, my breadmaker was well worth it.  I found the guide for the breadmaker online, which means, I have all of the recipes that come with it, too.

Step 2.  Obtain a recipe (provided) and ingredients (not). 

My boyfriend really likes using buns as bread, and so, I generally do that instead of try to make loaves of bread.  Although it takes a little longer, it saves us the effort of having to cut up bread to use whenever we need it.  With these, we can just grab and go.

I got this recipe from Man Tested Recipes, and I love it, because its small, and easy to do.

After you taste test this recipe, once, you may want to consider preparing it several times over in mason jars or plastic bags to keep as a “ready made” version.  To do this, combine all ingredients except WET ingredients and YEAST.  Store in an airtight container.  You’ll need about 2 cups of space.

DRY INGREDIENTS

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast

WET INGREDIENTS

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/4 stick butter

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Follow your breadmaker instructions, but mine says, add wet, then dry, then yeast.
  • So I add the egg, milk, and butter to the bottom of the breadmaker bowl, then add the flour, sugar, and salt on top.
  • On top of that, I add the yeast.
  • I set my breadmaker to the “dough” setting and let it run through.  Mine takes 2 hours, but you can stop it after the initial mixing to check.  If it looks powdery, add some milk.  If it looks runny, add some flour.
  • After the dough is done, I divide it into four roughly equal sections, pound it down, and let it rise under a towel for 30 minutes.
  • I then bake it in an unpreheated oven at 375 deg. F. for 15-20 minutes.
  • I often double this recipe because we tend to eat all of the buns when I make them.
Leave a Reply

