Pizza and Peanut Butter: Themes On Today

I’ve been baking and cooking almost religiously, lately, I think in part because I finally have someone to throw all of these new recipes at… and because I use it as a way to de-stress from both being poor and going to work wayyyyy too much.

I actually look forward to the weekends now, so I can spend a day just fucking around in my kitchen.  Yeah, how domestic is that?  For a soccer-playing, black belt field scientist, that’s pretty wife-y.  Ah, well.

So today, I made five different things.  In order, I made mini-flatbreads, calzones with two different fillings, stuffed cupcakes, and then low-carb peanut butter cookies.

Have I told you how I made the flatbreads?  It’s just like the pizza, except I roll out the ABin5 bread dough and then cut it into halves or quarters.  I roll it out a bit more, then I spritz it with water or olive oil and sprinkle some garlic/salt/oregano seasoning mix on it.

I throw these into a 450 degree F. oven for about 8 minutes.

Anyway, so I’ve been making these all week because they’re easy, quick, and delicious.  I had to finish off my double batch of dough, and I did it with those.

With my dough container clean, I made up some “Olive Oil dough,” also from the ABin5 cookbook, and let it rise for 2 hours, then put it in the fridge.

Meanwhile, my sweet tooth was getting hungry, so I decided to finally use up a package of vanilla cupcakes that included a little packet of chocolate filling.  Can’t think of what they’re called at this moment.  But they were good, too.

I took a break for a while, then resumed my baking frenzy by trying some calzones with the now-chilled pizza dough.  To do these, I started just like the flatbreads – rolled out the dough and cut it in half, then, for each half, I spread the two fillings on and folded them over and sealed them shut with a fork.

What were my fillings?  The first two I made were stupid simple: I wanted something for breakfast this week, so I just spread some peanut butter in there.

The second set of fillings was the classic sauce-cheese-pepperoni combination.

The calzones went onto the baking stone, 2 at a time, for about 18 minutes at the same 450 deg. F. temperature.  We actually haven’t tried any of those (I made six) yet.

And then, craving something sweet, I opted for sugarless PB cookies, which are ridiculously easy to make: 1 cup peanut butter, 1 cup Splenda, a teaspoon of vanilla and an egg.  350 deg. F. for about 10-12 minutes.

I normally abhor artificial sweeteners, but with these cookies, I’m trying these to see if I have a migraine reaction to the splenda.  I know that the other one, aspartame, usually makes me feel funny – hungry all the time, etc.  So, we’ll see.  This being typed, I have a slight headache, but it could be due to my poor posture.

Anyway, I just wanted to share my baking adventures with you guys.  I’m trying to balance living clean and cheap, and it’s going to take a lot of experimentation to figure out what I like, what I don’t, and what works best.

I lean towards low-carb lifestyles, but I want to do it in a way that is sort of… undetectable.  I don’t want to be the person that goes, “eww, that has 4 grams of sugar!” at the office party.  Given my current choice of picky boyfriend, too, its important that what I make is appealing to both of us.  For me, that means cooking veggies separately if I want them.

In any case, I figure… I’ll learn how to cook, first, and then I’ll focus on how to make it healthier, if I even need to.  The way I see it, if you’re healthy, and active, and happy, you’re truly honoring the gods.

 

..Fun da middles.  That’s what those stuffed cupcakes are called.

 

Good night!

Leave a Reply

