Water And Wine

This is a song that I wrote today; I’ll share the video when I post it at some point.  I’m driving 450 mi tomorrow.. so maybe Sunday?

To give you some background, I’m embroiled in a songwriting challenge where we have to write a song a week for a year.  This week’s prompt is “Sympathetic” and it brought to mind sympathetic magic.  This started as a song about pain, about sharing pain, and about standing with another person who’s hurting, but it ended as an homage to the wheel of the year and the cycle of death and rebirth.

Brother, can you hear me?
Calling out your name
Don’t you know that I hear your pain?
She’s sitting here beside me
Waiting for the memory to fade
Waiting for the tides to change
From water to wine

Cousin, can you see me?
Reaching through the darkness
Searching for your hand to hold
I’m sitting right beside you
Waiting for the bonds to fade
Waiting for the winds to change
My water to wine

Don’t let me call you home
You need to see this through
Don’t say you won’t go on
We’ll be there for you

Father, can you feel me?
When the wind is blowing
Can you feel my whispers of days gone by?
They’re piled up behind me
Waiting for the world to see
Waiting for my pain to ease
To water from wine

Lover, can you smell me?
Wafting through your memory
Can’t you taste the passion we shared?
It lives now in the darkness
Waiting in the shadow and grime
Waiting for its chance to shine again
In water and wine

Don’t let me call you home
You have to see this through
You know you’ll rise again
We stand with you

Great Lord, will you touch me?
Kneel in love beside me?
Great Lord, will you worship me today?
Your lips meet my body
Hands to hands and toes to toes
Lips to lips and heart to heart
My water, your wine

Leave a Reply

