Spice Rub Crock Pot Chicken (Paleo Meal #1)

So, some of us eat paleo/primal all the time without knowing.  For example, eggs and bacon?  Paleo.  Scrambled eggs with milk/cheese and bacon?  Primal.  Salad with grilled chicken?  Paleo, or primal, depending on cheese and/or croutons.

I found this recipe in the book, and then in the blog, Everyday Paleo.  Here’s the rundown:

Cut up an onion or two, put them on the bottom of your crockpot to make a nice layer of delicious, delicious onions.  For migraineurs that can’t risk onions, try potatoes or any other veggies that you like.

Mix together some spices.  I followed the recipe (which I’ll share below) from Everyday Paleo, with one exception: I didn’t have any “poultry seasoning,” so I just used some blackened seasoning instead.

Cover your fresh, washed and patted dry chicken in your delicious spices.

Put your chicken on top of your veggies.

Put the lid on.

Cook for 5-6 hours.

Now, my chicken is in the crockpot right now, so I can’t comment on taste.  But, it sure smelled delicious.

I’m feeding mostly myself, but sometimes, my boyfriend, too.  So this chicken should last us a while.  I plan to use leftovers in fajitas and salads.

SPICE RUB CROCKPOT CHICKEN

  • 1 –  5 lb whole chicken, washed and patted dry
  • 1 – sliced white, sweet, or yellow onion
  • SPICES:
    • 1 tsp sea salt
    • 2 tsp paprika
    • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
    • 1 tsp white pepper
    • 1 tsp poultry seasoning (I used blackened seasoning)
    • 1 tsp garlic powder

Add sliced white onion to bottom of crockpot.  Mix spices and rub on chicken.  Put chicken in crockpot, and cook on low for 5-6 hours.

 

Leave a Reply

