Some Evening Thoughts, Buffalo Chickenless Wing Dip

So, it’s been a few days since I last posted, and unfortunately, it’s the same excuse as always: work.  However, I am incredibly glad that I have useful work to do.  And you know, I have a job.  Anyway, that on top of struggling with a lot of things – fatigue, migraines, and the like – meant that I was sort of quiet this week.  So let’s give you an update, shall we?

Monday through Wednesday, I struggled with migraine, intense fatigue, and an incredible lack of motivation.  Thursday, I bit the bullet and went into work early and spent all day with my hands in the dirt.  I was exhausted when I got home, but I felt better.  I was also productive on Friday.  Today, also, but in a different way.

Diet / lifestyle wise, I was gluten free all week.  I had some pizza this afternoon, with gluten, and got a headache almost immediately.  I don’t know if it was the gluten, because I was dehydrated and sort of achey this morning, but the pizza definitely pushed me over the edge.

Being primal is challenging.  And it’s not because the food sucks, it’s just that it’s a different style of eating, and it can be a lot for your system to handle, to ingest all of the protein.  Your body craves easy energy, and fat and protein aren’t as easy as refined carbs and starch.

I find myself turning a lot to milk and peanut butter.  So I think my problem is that I’m not getting quite enough fat in my meals to be full.  I think that my body will adjust, though, and we’ll work through it just fine.

So, to update you, my modified plan is to focus on gluten free living for January, and consider going farther down the rabbit hole, and into strict primal, later on.

My general rule is that after at least two days of gluten free, I can have some if I want.  So, like a three day week.  That seems to be the cycle that my body is on.  Though, as I said, I went gluten free all week and only broke for some pizza today. The only reason I really struggled on Thurs and Fri was because I didn’t cook last weekend, and so, I ran out of food.

Oh, by the way, I really need to start taking pictures of the food I make!  I should’ve today, but I was running late.

I was headed out to a potluck, and they requested vegetarian dishes.  So I decided to make buffalo wing dip… without the chicken.  I modified the recipe and it turned out excellent.  Here’s what I did:

Buffalo Chickenless Wing Dip

Can be easily halved.

Ingredients:

  • 16 oz (2 pckg) cream cheese, softened (microwave, 1 minute)
  • 3/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot Wing Sauce
  • 1 cup Blue Cheese (I used Ken’s, but I like Marie’s, too)
  • 1/2 cup Blue Cheese crumbles (optional, I had some on hand)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup minced celery
  • 1/4-1/2 onion, chopped into 1 cm^2 pieces or so
  • Coconut oil or cooking oil of your choice
  • 1/2 teaspoon (~1 clove) minced garlic
  • 1/2-1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Heat oil in a skillet on medium heat.  Meanwhile, in a mixing bowl, microwave your cream cheese about one minute to soften.  Add both Blue Cheeses and the hot sauce.  Mix, on low, until combined and mostly smooth.  Add chopped celery.  Now, add garlic and onion to skillet and fry until edges are beginning to brown.  Remove from heat, drain excess oil, and add the garlic/onion mix to the sauce.  Beat, on low, again, until combined.  Pour into a glass bowl or casserole dish and place in oven for 15 minutes.

While it is heating, grate your cheese.  Don’t grate your thumb, like I did.  That hurts.  A lot.  After the 15 minutes, take it out, and scatter the cheese on top.  Put back in oven for another 8-10 minutes.  Remove — careful! It’ll be hot.  Serve with delicious corn chips or even more delicious sweet potato chips.

Leave a Reply

