Fox News commentators making insensitive statements about Wicca

 

I wanted to share this with you guys so that you would be informed.  I don’t have too much to say about it, except that these people went out of their way to be ignorant about our faith.  I’m not sure Fox News could even be a forum where religious tolerance and education would be well received.  I’m not sure that getting up in arms about this would be helpful.  I sort of see it as a lost cause.

I welcome Fox News commentators and anyone else who is interested in learning what Wicca is to check out the 13 Principles of Wiccan Belief.

Also, I want you to know that if you’re Wiccan and/or Pagan, it is your right and privilege to ask for your holidays off from work or school.  I have done it in the past without a problem.  I believe you can pursue legal action against your employer or University for discrimination if they deny you a reasonable request for time off.  I say “reasonable” because I don’t think it’s reasonable to request 13 esbats and 8 sabbats off from work, then spend the days at home, playing video games.  If you have a special holiday ritual you want to do, then by all means, request the day off of work.  Most of the time, you probably won’t even have to tell your employer (if you don’t want to) that it’s a religious observation.

Leave a Reply

