Dairy-Free April, Book Updates, and More

Hi all!

So, I may have pulled some of you in from the title, let’s give a quick summary.  My name is Lynn, and I suffer from migraines.  I’ve been trying for the last 2 years to figure out and eliminate migraine triggers.  So far, I’ve found red onions, “fake” sugars like aspartame, sucralose, and stevia, strong smells, travel, fluorescent lights, poor sleep, dehydration all contribute to my migraines.  This year, back in January, I did a gluten-free month, to see if I was gluten sensitive.  There is mixed evidence that gluten may trigger migraines, but I didn’t find any sort of causal relationship between wheat and my migraines.

In February, I tried to eliminate medicine.  It sounds counterintuitive, but often, migraines are triggered by rebound reactions — too much medication, too frequently.  In February, I had 8 total headaches, but 3 of those were during travel, which is a HUGE trigger for me.  In March, to contrast, I had only 4 episodes, but two lasted over 24 hours and required medication.  Of those two, I believe one was triggered by Stevia, which I was tasting for the first time.  The latter was the most recent, yesterday, and I believe it was caused by my dog’s body slamming into my face the day before.  I medicated this morning because I needed to function at work today.  Although I am obviously not working that hard, since I’m blogging.  At work.

The next big things for me to try to eliminate are dairy, chocolate and corn.  No, corn isn’t really a migraine trigger that I know of, but I consume a lot of corn products and I bet that it could make me healthier.  In any case, dairy CAN be a migraine trigger for some people, and I consume a LOT of dairy, so I’m going to try living without it this month.  Or at least, today, which seems to be challenge enough.  So, if you’re interested in a dairy-free lifestyle or just want to watch me suffer without cheese and milk, stay tuned!  This one might be day-to-day: I honestly don’t know if I can give up milk.  It’s a big part of my life.  And I think that substituting coconut, soy, or almond milk may just be creating more opportunities for migraines.

Onto the book updates. During the free giveaway of “Using Wicca To Achieve Your Goals,” over 1000 copies were given away.  There have been several Amazon Prime borrowed books, and several outright sales.  This book is now in the top 100 Paid Kindle Books in the Wicca & Witchcraft section (Number 64 today).  How awesome is that?  I hope it’s helping people, and they’ll soon be leaving reviews telling me how it’s changed their lives.  I’m excited.  If you haven’t gotten your copy yet, please consider taking the plunge.  For the price of a McDonald’s dollar menu lunch (McDouble, Fries, and Drink), you can learn about goal setting in a religious context, as well as support me in my blogging and writing efforts.

This book was originally supposed to be much larger, but the scope was too broad and I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to finish it.  As a result, it’s a part of a three-piece series I’m writing.  The first, “Using Wicca To Achieve Your Goals” lays out the basic goal-setting method.

The next book that I’ll be releasing sometime this month, gods willing, will detail how to apply the goal-setting method to weight loss and general fitness goals.  In addition to reviewing the goal-setting method, the new book (tentatively entitled “Wiccan Weight Loss”) will detail the methods I’ve used  and am using to lose weight.  The benefit of this book will be in it’s perspective: I do not ignore my medical conditions while writing.  The upcoming book will tell you how I’m losing weight DESPITE my migraine issues which severely disrupt sleep and eating habits.

Finally, the third book will be “Rituals for Goal Setting in Wicca” (again, tentative title) and will have rituals for each of the eight sabbats, as well as a new moon and full moon ritual, along with a brief overview of the goal-setting methods laid out in the first two books.  I may also include some fragments of ritual and/or spells, meditation exercises, motivation exercises, and the like.

I think that’s all I have for now.  Oh, well, expect some “Blast from the Past” blog posts in the future.  I spent the weekend cleaning out some old journals and binders/collections of papers.  I found some chants I created, I found some interesting thoughts on tarot, photosynthesis, as well as the Wheel of the Year.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

